The Old Pay Office

Return to our buildings

The original Pay Office was extended in 1808 when a fire-proof building with vaulted ceiling was added – probably the earliest example of such a building in a Naval dockyard. It contained a strong room and safe. Charles Dickens’ father, John Dickens, worked here as a clerk before moving with his family to London in 1815.

The Old Pay Office is now home to  an experimental space that enables industry and practitioners to work on live projects collaboratively with creative students.

Led by the Sustainable Conservation Trust, Anglepoise and the University of Portsmouth, over 450 students have visited and worked in the vibrant and welcoming student space.