Storehouse 9, constructed in 1782, was the last of the three large Georgian storehouses to be built during the Dockyard expansion from 1760. This three-storey red brick building underwent alterations over time, notably in the 1970s when ground floor doorways were removed to create a covered walkway.

Inside, features included a central pediment with an oculus. The cellar boasts brick barrel vaults and on upper floors, timber posts support large beams. While some modifications have occurred, including the replacement of timbers on the first floor and the removal of double doors and decorative fanlights, Storehouse No. 9 retains its historic character.

Storehouse No. 9 played a crucial role in supporting naval operations. Stores were taken in from the eastern side facing the road and taken out on the western side facing the Camber dock, where they were loaded onto small boats for onward transmission to ships in harbour.

Storehouse 9 now serves as an events space, and is home to our Dockyard Artist in Residence.